Aon Uni7s

Aon Uni 7s to take new format in 2021

Sydney, 9 March 2021 - Australia's premier development pathway for Women's Sevens will take a new format in 2021, with regional pools seeing a more competitive competition in its fourth instalment. 

Four regional rounds played out in both Queensland and New South Wales across March and April will see teams vie for pole position to qualify for the two final National tournaments in May.
The first rounds of the 2021 Aon University Sevens Series will be played out in March at Easts Rugby Club in Brisbane.
While the concurrent Sydney leg will be played at Woollahra Oval, seeing the tournament integrated with the Eastern Suburbs juniors.
The competition will then move to Surfers Paradise Rugby Club and Newcastle Rugby Club in April, where teams will look to secure their place in the National finals, with the qualifying teams securing the last two legs at their home fields.
Pool A (Queensland tournaments) will comprise reigning champions, The University of Queensland, Bond University, Griffith University, the University of Adelaide and the University of Melbourne.
While Pool B (NSW based tournaments) will include the University of Sydney, the University of Canberra and the University of Technology, Sydney.
The 2021 tournament will also see the University of Newcastle's inclusion, replacing the University of Western Australia who has withdrawn from the competition.
Australian Sevens Performance Manager Scott Bowen said: "Our Aon tournament is one of our premier products and essential to ensuring the success of our programs long term.
"The 2021 format is crucial as ever, not only to give our National squad members game time but also to see the next generation of players as we keep an eye on the 2022 Commonwealth Games and the 2024 Paris Olympics.
"Our Women's program is filled with players who have been selected from the Aon Series in the past; we hope this will again be the case in 2021 and beyond,” Bowen said.  

Aon's Chief Executive Officer, James Baum, said Aon is proud to continue its relationship with Rugby Australia in supporting the next generation's development into elite athletes through the Aon University 7s Series.
"After a tumultuous year we are very excited to see the competition return in 2021. The Aon University 7s Series is part of our ongoing commitment to support diversity and inclusion both on and off the rugby field, and provide pathway opportunities for both women and younger girls to develop and nurture their passion for rugby and learn valuable life skills. We wish all of the athletes and teams a successful competition."

2021 Aon University Sevens Series 

Regional Round One: 27-28 March
Pool A: Easts Rugby Club, Brisbane
Pool B: Woollahra Oval, Sydney
Regional Round Two: 10-11 April
Pool A: Surfers Paradise Rugby Club, Surfers Paradise
Pool B: No. 2 Sports Ground, Newcastle
National Round One: 1-2 May
New South Wales
National Round Two: 15-16 May


For further information please contact:

Emma Casey 
+61 2 9253 7421

Click here to visit our global news room 

Follow Aon Australia on Twitter
Follow Aon Australia on LinkedIn
Follow Aon Australia on Instagram